

Setting the Standard for Great Teaching Fixer la norme pour un enseignement de qualité

Memo

Date:	September 1, 2020
То:	Members of Council
From:	Mary Ellen Gucciardi, OCT Vice-Chair, Accreditation Appeal Committee
Subject:	Report of the Accreditation Appeal Committee

Committee Meetings Dates

An orientation session was held for a new committee member on July 17 and the committee met on July 29, 2020.

Summary of Discussions

During the July 17 training and orientation session, information was provided on the committee's mandate and role, committee processes, and administrative law, deliberations and decision writing.

At the July 29 meeting, the committee elected a new chair. The vacancy had arisen following the resignation from Council of the previous chair. In addition, the current committee vice-chair (Jonathan Rose) expressed his support for furthering leadership opportunities amongst members. He extended an invitation to committee members to express their interest in serving in the position and a new vice-chair was selected. The committee also approved text for the 2019 Annual Report and a budget for 2021.

Motions Referred to Council

The Accreditation Appeal Committee recommends:

That Council appoint Bob Cooper, OCT as Chair of the Accreditation Appeal Committee for the duration of the term of the 8th Council.

Committee Mandate/Duties

The Accreditation Appeal Committee is a committee established under Regulation 347/02, *Accreditation of Teacher Education Programs.* It is responsible for considering appeals from in-service and pre-service providers regarding the denial of accreditation, and appeals of the imposition of conditions on accreditation.

101, rue Bloor Ouest Toronto ON M5S 0A1 416.961.8800 1.888.534.2222 (Ontario) info@oeeo.ca oeeo.ca

Future Meeting Date(s)

The committee has not identified any future meeting dates.

Committee Members

Charles Dimitry Abraham, OCT Bob Cooper, OCT Melissa Gaffen, OCT Mary Ellen Gucciardi, OCT (Vice-Chair) Jonathan Rose

(on behalf of) Mary Ellen Gucciardi, OCT Vice-Chair