



Special Meeting of Council

Council Chambers, 15th Floor, 101 Bloor Street West, Toronto December 6, 2019 Minutes of the Special Meeting of Council of the Ontario College of Teachers held on December 6, 2019 in the Council Chambers, 15th Floor, 101 Bloor Street West, Toronto

TABLE OF CONTENTS

		Page
1.	Call to Order/Welcome	3
2.	Agenda	3
3.	Conflict of Interest	4
4.	Business Arising	
	4.1 Bylaws: Proposed Amendment to Section 21,	4
	Annual Membership Fees	4
5	Adjournment	5

Minutes of the Special Meeting of Council of the Ontario College of Teachers held on December 6, 2019 in the Council Chambers, 15th Floor, 101 Bloor Street West, Toronto

Present: Charles Dimitry Abraham, OCT; Diane Ballantyne, OCT; Paige Bennett, OCT;

Bob Cooper, OCT; Chantal Côté, OCT; Irene Dembek, OCT; Richard Filion; Rebecca Forte, OCT; Melissa Gaffen, OCT; Tim Gernstein, OCT; Erin Glen, OCT; Mary Ellen Gucciardi, OCT; John Hamilton, OCT; Jacqueline Karsemeyer, OCT; Timothy Kwiatkowski, OCT; Colleen Landers; Mary-Anne Mouawad, OCT; Sara Nouini, OCT; Gerry O'Reilly, OCT; Tom Potter; Nicola Powadiuk, OCT; Vincent Rinaldo, OCT; Jonathan Rose; Michael Salvatori, OCT (Registrar); Stéphane Vallée, OCT; Nicole van Woudenberg, OCT; Stephen Zimmermann, OCT

Regrets: John Cammarata; Elizabeth Edgar-Webkamigad, OCT; Susan E. Elliott-Johns,

OCT; Godwin Ifedi; Marlène Marwah; Michelle Miner Seal; Nancy Saunders,

OCT; Jennifer Wyatt, OCT

Presiding

Officers: Lori Lukinuk and Ric Murray

Staff: Kim Bauer; Chantal Bélisle, OCT; Tan Crombie; Roch Gallien, OCT; Richard

Lewko; Charlie Morrison; Daiana Moschetto; Linda Zaks-Walker, OCT

1. Call to Order/Welcome

The Presiding Officer, Lori Lukinuk, called the meeting to order at 11:40 a.m. and welcomed all present.

It was noted that Tim Gernstein and Colleen Landers comprised the Steering Committee.

2. Agenda (GC20191206-138)

It was moved by Steering, and

CARRIED,

That the Agenda for the December 6, 2019 Special Meeting of Council be approved.

eScribe vote:

For:

Charles Dimitry Abraham, Diane Ballantyne, Paige Bennett, Bob Cooper, Chantal Côté, Irene Dembek, Richard Filion; Rebecca Forte, Melissa Gaffen, Tim Gernstein, Erin Glen, Mary Ellen Gucciardi, John Hamilton, Jacqueline Karsemeyer, Timothy Kwiatkowski, Colleen Landers, Mary-Ann Mouawad, Sara Nouini, Gerry O'Reilly, Tom Potter, Nicola Powadiuk, Jonathan Rose, Stéphane Vallée, Nicole van Woudenberg, Stephen Zimmermann

Result <u>For</u> : 25	Against: 0	Abstain: 1	Absent: 8
------------------------	------------	------------	-----------

3. Conflict of Interest

No conflicts were declared.

4. Business Arising

4.1 Bylaws: Proposed Amendment to Section 21, Annual Membership Fees (GC20191206-139)

The Chair of the Finance Committee, Diane Ballantyne, thanked Council members for their work during the preceding regular meeting to review and approve the budget for 2020. She noted that a bylaw amendment as read into the minutes of the previous meeting was required to reflect the approved increase to the College's annual membership fee.

It was moved by Steering, and

CARRIED,

That Council approve that College Bylaws sections 21.04 (a) and (b) be amended as follows:

- (a) the deletion of "\$150" and "2014" to be substituted by "\$170" and "2020", and
- (b) the deletion of "\$150" to be substituted by "\$170" to read:
 - 21.04 The annual fee shall be:
 - (a) \$170 for 2020
 - (b) \$170 for subsequent years until amended as provided by these bylaws.

eScribe vote:

For:

Diane Ballantyne, Paige Bennett, Bob Cooper, Chantal Côté, Irene Dembek, Richard Filion, Rebecca Forte, Melissa Gaffen, Erin Glen, Mary Ellen Gucciardi, John Hamilton, Jacqueline Karsemeyer, Timothy Kwiatkowski, Colleen Landers, Mary-Ann Mouawad, Sara Nouini, Gerry O'Reilly, Tom Potter, Vincent Rinaldo, Jonathan Rose, Stéphane Vallée, Nicole van Woudenberg

<u>Against:</u> Charles Dimitry Abraham, Stephen Zimmermann

Result	<u>For</u> : 22	Against: 2	Abstain: 2	Absent: 8
--------	-----------------	------------	------------	-----------

5. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 11:50 a.m.

Signed:	Signed:
Chair, Nicole van Woudenberg, OCT	Registrar, Michael Salvatori, OCT
Dated:	Dated: