

Setting the Standard for Great Teaching Fixer la norme pour un enseignement de qualité

Memo

Date: August 25, 2020

To: Members of the Executive Committee

From: Colleen Landers, Chair

Subject: Report of the Ad Hoc Committee on the College Scholarship Program

Committee Mandate

In November 2019, the Executive Committee received a report from the Scholarship Sub-Committee with the following recommendation:

That the Executive Committee establish a sub-committee to explore the establishment of and criteria for an additional scholarship award in recognition of the College's former CEO and Registrar, Brian McGowan.

The Executive Committee then passed the following motion:

That the Executive Committee establish a sub-committee to review and explore the current criteria, structure and names of scholarship awards, and bring back recommendations.

Committee Meetings Dates

The committee held an initial meeting on July 13, and met again on August 13 and 24, 2020.

Summary of Discussions

At the August meetings, the committee reviewed and discussed aspects of the scholarship program that included:

- financial options and the potential cost implications of adding a fourth annual scholarship award. The committee is proposing four scholarships at \$1,500 each to be awarded annually
- eligibility criteria to distinguish a ourth scholarship named the Brian P. McGowan Scholarship for Resilience
- language of the online application form to ensure clarity with respect to the application process and open, welcoming explanatory text

- revised weighting for application criteria, for example, allowing applicants to dicusss awards and accolades in their essays as opposed to a separate listing
- increased transparency and sharing of the rubrics used by the Scholarship Selection Committee in their assessments.

The revised application form as it appears online for potential applicants is attached as EX20200917-62, Attachment 1 for your review. Proposed changes are reflected in track changes.

Motions Referred to Council

The committee recommends:

That the Executive Committee approve amendments to the Ontario College of Teachers Scholarship Program as outlined in Document EX20200917-62, Attachment 1.

Committee Members

Diane Ballantyne, OCT Colleen Landers (Chair) Sara Nouini, OCT

Colleen Landers, Chair

Coller Londers